Posted by: johnocunningham | November 5, 2015

Best Blogs in October: Original Content, Inbound Marketing, and Servant Marketing

This is my 35th post in a series of monthly features that I have dubbed “Best of My Blog Roll.” The concept is simple – at the end of a month I peruse my own blog roll (see that column on the right) for material created by other bloggers that I think is most worthy of sharing with others, and then I report on it here.

For the month of October 2015, I have chosen to highlight three blog posts:

  1. A post by Vanessa Schaefer of Clockwork Design Group entitled, “Is Buying Syndicated Content Worth the Price?”
  2. A post on the Cordell Parvin blog entitled, “Marketing: What Are You Doing to Help Your Contacts Be More Successful?”
  3. A post by Stephen Fairley on the Rainmaker Blog entitled: “21 Inbound Strategies to Grow Your Law Firm.”

I particularly like Stephen Fairley’s post because it offers 21 useable tips for attracting clients and growing revenue through “inbound” marketing, which is a form of marketing designed to pull people into your professional space (often through delivery of content that they value). One of the most interesting statistics he cites is on blogging: “Businesses that blog receive 77 percent more traffic and 98 percent more links to their site than those who do not.” Sounds like a good reason to get blogging or to at least get a professional to work with you on creating blog posts.

Another post on my list by Vanessa Schaefer points out that it is hard to be perceived as a “thought leader” if you are posting syndicated content that is recycled everywhere. She also astutely points out that Google’s search algorithms are capable of detecting recycled content, and they will downgrade it accordingly for SEO purposes. Thus, the creation of original content that is valued by readers is absolutely priceless.

Finally, I love the post by Cordell Parvin, which encourages professional service providers to ask themselves the question: “What can I do off the clock that would help my client and his/her company?” I have heard this approach referred to in some circles as “servant marketing.” When I have interviewed CEOs of small companies, many have told me that this kind of non-billable “servant” focus on helping a client by introducing them to key contacts or helping them achieve a personal goal is an absolute winning strategy for relationship building. C-suiters at larger companies may have built out their critical networks already, but those at fledgling enterprises are much more likely to value highly some off-the-clock introductions, advice or general assistance.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

