Posted by: johnocunningham | September 8, 2014

Best Blog Posts of August: Pose This Power Question To Your Clients

This is my 21st post in a series of monthly features that I have dubbed “Best of My Blog Roll.” The concept is simple – at the end of a month I often peruse my own blog roll (see that column on the right) for material created by other bloggers that I think is most worthy of sharing with others, and then I report on it here.

For the month of August 2014, I have chosen to highlight three blog posts, giving my first star to Nancy Myrland for her post on “One of the Most Important Questions You Can Ask Your Clients”

The recommended power question is elegantly simple: “What can I do to keep you as a client for the long haul?”

As the author points out, the inspiration for this question came from a CEO who asks the same power question of his employees in an employment-related context.

I would recommend at least one follow-up question for clients: “What can I do to become your service-provider of choice for more of your needs?”

For my readers, I also want to highlight an August post at Adam Smith, Esq. entitled, “Do You Love What You Do?”

This post highlights key findings cited in a Harvard Business Review article based on a performance study of 10,000 military leaders and their divisions. The most intriguing findings to me were about what you can do wrong as a leader to undermine performance.

The study found that the worst steps that leaders can take are the following:

1. Making everything about compensation and profit rather than vision and purpose.

2. Keeping a tight leash on people through micromanagement rather than giving them missions and problems to solve using their own creative judgment.

Finally, there is a third post that I found very useful last month on the subject of what makes a good headline. Larry Bodine’s Law Marketing Blog featured this gem entitled, “The Perfect Headline is Six Words Long.” This post breaks down the components of both good and bad headlines based on readers’ habits in response to headlines.

Responses

  1. John, thank you so much for including me this month! I am always honored to be on your radar as I respect you so much. Again, thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

