Posted by: johnocunningham | July 11, 2013

Best Blogs in June: One Minute Opportunities

This is my 10th post in a series of monthly features that I have dubbed “Best of My BlogRoll.” The concept is simple – each month I peruse my own blog roll (see that column on the right) for material created by other bloggers that I think is most worthy of sharing with others, and then I report on it here.

For the month of June, I have chosen to highlight a post by David Ackert on his Ackert Advisory site about one-minute opportunities we can easily overlook every day. David’s post, entitled “Going Up,” is about the best way to start a conversation on an elevator, but the conversational payoff could just as well be had from making a connection with the person next to you on a plane, train or a boat.

In his piece, David notes that many times people in elevators bury their heads in their smart-phones rather than trying to make connections with other human beings, despite the fact that those human connections are potentially life-changing – much more so than the pile of messages on your Facebook wall or in your Twitter account, which you can review at any time.

In my own interviews with successful rainmaker, I have noted that they too look at every human encounter as meaningful, if not in terms of opportunity, in terms of warming the soul. Great rainmakers, in my experience, are more likely to reach out to strangers, and much more likely to turn them into clients or friends. In fact, I know of one retired Boston lawyer who was the founding partner of a well-known local firm and found one of his first blue-chip lifetime clients when he sat next to him on the infamous “T.”

So when was the last time you struck up an “elevator conversation” with someone serendipitously?

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

