Posted by: johnocunningham | April 1, 2014

Best Blogs of March: Legal Services Predictions and Trends

This is my 17th post in a series of monthly features that I have dubbed “Best of My BlogRoll.” The concept is simple – at the end of a month I often peruse my own blog roll (see that column on the right) for material created by other bloggers that I think is most worthy of sharing with others, and then I report on it here.

For the month of March 2014, I have chosen to highlight a blog post on Amy Campbell’s Web Log, entitled “Legal Services Predictions and Trends for 2014.”

Amy is great at following thought leaders in the fields of legal services and marketing, and she regularly reports on what thought leaders and legal insiders are saying. I think the articles to which she provided links in her post speak for themselves, so I will not attempt to add any analysis here.

But I do also want to highlight a couple of posts this month that merit attention as well.

First, there is a post by Timothy B. Corcoran on his Business of Law Blog about the changing definition of value and what matters most to in-house counsel. He has some nice quotes in here from counsel, and he provides some helpful links as well.

Second, there is a nice post out there on Adam Smith, Esq. about the “Three Leading Indicators of Failure” at law firms. Having interviewed a number of managing partners about the subjects of what makes a law firm successful or not, I would add that the first two points made in the article are likely to be affirmed by many with leadership experience. You can’t let the 800-pound gorillas run the place (and run talented people out of the firm) and you have to develop a market strategy that is grounded in reality and not delusional or wishful thinking.

Those are my picks for great reading this month. Hope you enjoy them.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 191 other followers

