Posted by: johnocunningham | October 12, 2013

Best Blogs of September: Digital Content – How It Works

This is my 13th post in a series of monthly features that I have dubbed “Best of My BlogRoll.” The concept is simple – each month I peruse my own blog roll (see that column on the right) for material created by other bloggers that I think is most worthy of sharing with others, and then I report on it here.

For the month of September, I have chosen to highlight a September 12 post about the purposes of and approaches to digital content. This post was provided by Nancy Myrland, who regularly posts useful and understandable tips on legal services marketing.

Nancy uses the wonderful metaphor of a trail of “digital breadcrumbs” leading to a law firm’s door to explain what digital content can do for those who publish it. She explains what kinds of digital breadcrumbs you can use, how you can use them, and how they function differently from “direct response marketing.”

I think this is a great explanation that tells lawyers why their tweets, blogs and Facebook posts are not and cannot be designed to prompt a prospect or client to hire you. Those who are expecting their phones to ring with engagement offers after a few tweets and blog posts simply don’t get it.

So why do these things at all?

You do it to leave the trail of digital breadcrumbs that make it more likely for people to find you eventually, and to create more daily impressions about you that, over time, seep into the reader’s brain and create what advertisers call “top of mind awareness” (studies show that customers/clients will seek out, when they want a specific product/service, one of the few brands that they recall first and most often in their mind).

The more bread crumbs you leave, and the more tasty they are, the more people will arrive at your digital door. The opposite is also true, and that is why I have seen my own daily site visits drop in half during a two-month period when I had no time to do regular postings on my site (a circumstance I expect will change by November 1).

Kudos to Nancy for another great post that will no doubt lead more content consumers to her site.

Responses

  1. John, thank you! You are so kind to feature my “digital breadcrumbs” post, and to follow up with your wonderful thoughts here. I find the same issue as you do when I back away for a day or two while working on a project. Looking at analytics then becomes my reminder that I have to leave digital breadcrumbs constantly or others I care about don’t find me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

